Music business entrepreneur, executive producer and multiple award-winning Anglophone hip hop / afrobeats artist ,D-black,has finally dropped his highly anticipated E.P ‘Smoke & Mirrors‘.


Available on all platforms now, ‘Smoke & Mirrors‘ streamed exclusively on Aftown and Youtube apps 5 days ahead of its release today.

The award-winning rapper accompanies the E.P release with the first music video / single off it ‘Heaven or Hell‘ featuring Sefa.

The seven-track EP titled ‘Smoke & Mirrors’ features soon to be everyone’s favorite track list which features talented acts like Bisa Kdei, Kelvyn Boy, Sefa, Sista Afia and others.

D-black releases the E.P before his highly anticipated fourth studio album ‘Loyalty’ and after a press at the offices of the Black Avenue Muzik Group on Thursday night with Ghana’s press / media creme de la creme D-Black commenting on the EP, D-Black said ‘Smoke & Mirrors’ was inspired by his journey in the music industry.

”Smoke & Mirrors’ essentially means nothing is as it seems. The smoke blurs your vision and the mirrors are a reflection and not always reality. This is EP is 90% Hip-hop and was inspired by my nine-year journey and where I am today. All I learnt coming up from 2010 till now. Had to take it back to the roots, Hip-hop,” he said.


The ‘Heaven or Hell‘ record was written in a car on a trip to Kumasi for Sefa‘s first promo run. I started playing beats for my E.P on the car speakers and started writing after we had seen an accident on the Accra – Kumasi road.

Thoughts just kept swirling round in my head so then i asked Sefa to write a hook as well to this concept of ‘Heaven or Hell‘. Two days later when we got to Accra we went straight to the studio to record it, D-Black said speaking on the inspiration behind the first single.

Touching on ‘Tha Bounce’, the second track off the EP, he said: “The Bounce was inspired by a Jay Z record we were vibing to in the studio at home and watching Ryan Leslie’s productions sessions myself, Rony Turn Me Up and DJ Breezy whilst we were working on the album. I wrote some lines on my phone and before we knew it I’d recorded the full track. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did making it.”

Check out the ‘Smoke & Mirrors‘ EP tracklist below:

Heaven or Hell ft. Sefa (prod. Fortune Dane)

Tha Bounce (prod. Rony Turn Me Up)

Monkey No Fine ft. Kelvyn Boy (prod. Snaz Beatz)

Die Young (prod. Fortune Dane)

Forget Me Not ft. Bisa Kdei (prod. Dj Breezy)

Nite & Day ft. Sefa, Coco Treyy & Sista Afia (prod. Rony Turn Me Up)

Lights in the Sky ft. Alexia Sungold (prod. Rony Turn Me Up)

Stay Connected , follow us on: Facebook: @thesleakdotcom, Twitter: @Thesleakdotcom, Instagram: @the_sleak

To place an advert/sponsored post on our site, contact us via [email protected]