The race for the best begins as world football governing body, FIFA have officially revealed a ten-man shortlist of nominees for the 2019 Best FIFA Men’s Player award.

The list includes the regular contenders; Juventus’ forward, Cristiano Ronaldo and Barcelona’s Lionel Messi.

Liverpool trio Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah and Tottenham’s Harry Kane have also been shortlisted to give both Ronaldo and Messi a run for their money.

Real Madrid’s latest signing,  Eden Hazard has also been shortlisted in the run for the much coveted award.

FIFA Men’s Best Player Award

However, last year’s  winner Luka Modric  was not named in the ten-man list. He won  the Best FIFA Men’s Player 2018 in London, succeeding Cristiano Ronaldo who claimed the first two editions of the award in 2016 and 2017.

Last year’s winner, Luka Modric

On the other hand, in the women’s category, England’s Lucy Bronze
and  Ellen White have also been nominated for the best female player award.

Futhermore, the winners will be announced on September 23 through a public vote.

Full men’s player shortlist

Mohammed Salah, Egypt

Virgil van Dijk, Netherlands

Sadio Mane, Senegal

Harry Kane, England

Christiano Ronaldo, Portugal

Lionel Messi,  Argentina

Matthijs de Light, Netherlands

Frenkie de Jong, Netherlands

Kylian Mbappe, France

Eden Hazard, Belgium

The ten-man shortlist

Full women’s player shortlist

Lucy Bronze, England

Julie Ertz, United States

Caroline Graham Hansen, Norway

Ada Hegerberg, Norway

Amandine Henry, France

Sam Kerr, Australia

Rose Lavelle, United States

Vivianne Miedema, Netherlands

Alex Morgan, United States

Megan Rapinoe, United States

Wendie Renard, France

Ellen White, England

Full women’s coaches shortlist

Phil Neville, England

Jill Ellis, United States

Milena Bertolini, Italy

Peter Gerhardsson, Sweden

Futoshi Ikeda, Japan

Antonia Is, Spain

Joe Montemurro, Arsenal

Reynald Pedros, Lyon

Paul Riley, North Carolina Courage

Sarina Wiegman, Netherlands

Full men’s coaches shortlist

Jurgen Klopp, Liverpool

Pep Guardiola, Manchester City

Mauricio Pochettino, Tottenham

Djamel Belmadi, Algeria

Didier Deschamps, France

Marcelo Gallardo, River Plate

Ricardo Gareca, Peru

Fernando Santos, Portugal

Erik Ten Hag, Ajax

Tite, Brazil

The Best FIFA Men’s Player is an association football award presented annually by the sport’s governing body, FIFA, to the world’s best men’s player.

The award is aimed at reviving the FIFA World Player of the Year, which was merged with France Football ‘s Ballon d’Or in 2010 to become the FIFA Ballon d’Or in a six-year partnership.

Stay Connected , follow us on: Facebook: @thesleakdotcom, Twitter: @Thesleakdotcom, Instagram: @the_sleak

To place an advert/sponsored post on our site, contact us via [email protected]