The federal government has disclosed that only five airports would be operational from June 21, while the others remained closed for further assessment.

Covid-19: FG to Reopen Lagos, Abuja, Three Other Airports

This was contained in a circular to airlines signed by the Director-General of the

Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), Capt Musa Nuhu.

In the circular dated June 1, the regulator stressed that the country’s airspace is still

closed to international flights while domestic flights could start from June 21, as

announced on Monday by the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19.

Nuhu said:

“The closure of Nigerian airports to domestic flights has been extended to 2300Z on 20th June 2020.

“The gradual start of domestic flight operations will commence on 21st June 2020 with Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport Abuja, Murtala Muhammed International Airport Lagos, Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport Kano, Omagwa International Airport Port Harcourt, and Sam Mbakwe Airport Owerri.

“Other airports will be gradually added to the network after a review and assessment.”

Airports across the country has been shut down for over a month so as to reduce the spread of the novel Coronavirus pandemic.

Stay Connected , follow us on: Facebook: @thesleakdotcom, Twitter: @Thesleakdotcom, Instagram: @the_sleak

To place an advert/sponsored post on our site, contact us via [email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here