SpaceX has successfully launched NASA astronauts Robert Behnken and Douglas Hurley into orbit on the Falcon 9 rocket and Crew Dragon spacecraft Saturday after cancelling a planned launch earlier this week due to bad weather.

SpaceX successfully launches NASA Astronauts to Space Station

It was the first launch of NASA astronauts from U.S. soil since 2011, the year the

Space Shuttle programme was retired.

In the period since then, NASA has paid Russia’s space programme to take its

astronauts to the International Space Station (ISS).

It was also a first for SpaceX, founded by tech billionaire Elon Musk, which became the first private company to launch astronauts into orbit.

READ
Coronavirus: "Africa can't and won't be used as a testing ground for vaccines" – WHO cries out

Behnken and Hurley lifted off at 3:22 p.m. ET (8:22 p.m. UK time) from the historic

Launch Complex 39A, the same launch pad used for the Apollo mission that took

Americans to the Moon, at NASA’s Kennedy Space Centre in Florida.

Shortly after liftoff, the first Falcon 9 booster successfully landed on the Of

Course I Still Love You drone ship in the Atlantic Ocean.

The astronauts will take control of the Crew Dragon for two manual flight tests

during the trip to the ISS in order to demonstrate their ability to control the

spacecraft in case there are ever issues with the spacecraft’s automated flight system.

READ
Lagos state Commissioner for Health, Akin Abayomi, tests positive for Covid-19

According to NASA, the Crew Dragon spacecraft is expected to dock to the ISS on Sunday morning at around 10:29 ET (3:29 p.m. UK time). It is an approximately 19-hour ride.

Previous articlePoco Lee spotted having a nice chat with billionaire Mompha (Photos)
Next articleDancer Korra Obidi shares priceless moment with her adorable daughter (Photo)

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here